Tzaneen: GTM award top students

HARD WORKERS: Best educators who give it their all were also awarded for their hard work at the Mayor's Excellence Awards held at [email protected] last Wednesday.

Greater Tzaneen Municipality hosted the Mayor’s Excellence Awards at [email protected] recently.

The awards were aimed at honoring the class of 2016 as well as hard working circuit managers and teachers who went beyond the call of duty.

The learners who made Tzaneen proud with their good marks were treated like royalty at the glamorous function attended by traditional leaders, labour unions, school principals, ward councillors, circuit managers and other stakeholders.

The awards were used as a platform to prove that hard work does pay off in the end.

Cleaneth Nkhwashu from the South African Teachers Democratic Union thanked GTM for making education the apex of its priorities. “This kind of event will motivate the class of 2027 to work even harder. Come 2018 we will see more learners. Our teachers also need to ensure that the numbers increase,” she said.

GTM mayor, Maripe Mangena, said that he believed that “awarding excellence will go a long way in motivating”.

He reminded teachers, parents, learners, government and business to prioritize the improvement of the entire public schooling and matric result in particular.

Mangena honoured the best learner in each of the 10 circuits under GTM. The Mayor also gave an award of “the Best Performing Learner per circuit from Independent Schools which went to Cindy Mabuza (94%) from St George College in the Nkowankowa Circuit.

Educators from ordinary public schools who achieved 100% pass rate in Accounting, Mathematics and Physical Science were also awarded. Nkowankowa Circuit was announced the best circuit. Shiluvana and Khujwana circuits were announced most improved circuits with 74.4% in 2015 to 74.9% in 2016 and 64.5% in 2015 to 70% in 2016 respectively.

The best performing learners for 2016 are Abel Nortje 93.1% from Ben Voster, Tlangelani Shikwambani 92%, Nkowankowa Circuit, Hudson Ntsan’wisi, Mohlatlego Sebelemetsa, 88%, Mawa Circuit, Ramotshinyadi, Shegofatso Mohale 86.4% Thabine Circuit, Mafutsane High School, Allen Seokoma, 86%, Mafarana, Circuit, Molabisane, Kabelo Malatjie, 83.3%, Shiluvane Circuit, Pherehla Maake, Musa Khosa, 72.1%, N’wanedzi Circuit, Mbhekwani High School, Dineo Machete, 69.9%, Xihoko Circuit, Mapheto, Hector Vuma 60.3%, Khujwana Circuit, Matimu High School and Cladia Masedi, Motupa Circuit, Boke Secondary school.

All winning learners will each receive a laptop and all winning circuit managers got spa vouchers sponsored by the Zillion Boutique. Municipality partnered with [email protected] (venue), Old Mutual (trophies) and Zillion Boutique (spa vouchers).

Nkhensani Nkhwashu

Latest News


Next Story x
TZANEEN: Former news anchor crowned best athlete